2009/365/207 Trying to Get By – a Public Notes Story

This hand written request caught my attention the other day as I was out running (or rather stopping to catch my breath). It is on the back of a hand made sign offer certain collector items for sale.

It got me thinking about the act of discovering someone else’s hand written note in a public space and the marveling at a story for which I only have a fragment.

It got me thinking about another one I found last year at the LAX airport. The fact that they are hand written makes it feel personal. The fact that it is found in a public place makes it intriguing to see a piece of someone’s life played out, unintentionally, in a public space. And the fact that we only get a fragment of the story makes it the kind of open ended, indefinite storytelling thing I enjoy.

So i am putting a few here in flickr a a set
www.flickr.com/photos/cogdog/sets/72157621727993611/

but have also just bought a domain name for a web site idea to play out this concept.

Leave a Reply

